Tips for building underground base defenses

Deadlypotato02

First Step
Hi, I'm a relatively new player on this server, I joined 2 days before this post and I am part of a small faction. I am currently building the outer walls of my base out of obsidian. I know that sponge is a better material, but are there cheaper alternatives or building strategies that could help? Any helpful posts will be appreciated!

HigherTier

Stone Miner
This is my first time in Factions too so I'm not really an experienced player but water prevents TNT blasts from destroying/damaging blocks so if you cover the obsidian walls and roof with water it should help against normal TNT cannons although not against sand cannons. To counter this, try placing slabs in a checkerboard pattern on the roof and floor around the base then placing water on top of the slabs. The slabs will break the sand and water will prevent the TNT from damaging the blocks.

TheNextHerobrine

Zombie Killer
Hi, I'm a relatively new player on this server, I joined 2 days before this post and I am part of a small faction. I am currently building the outer walls of my base out of obsidian. I know that sponge is a better material, but are there cheaper alternatives or building strategies that could help? Any helpful posts will be appreciated!